Of Tempest and Teacups

Author: Rebecca Diem
Publisher: Woolf Like Me Publishing
Publishing Year: 2018

firstpubreview

I want to start this review with a little positive news first. This series has been the starting point for my book reviews and has really helped me see a projected future for this blog. Because of this series I decided to start writing reviews. My first few posts were to help me feel comfortable and confident in my written abilities, but this was the first review that I sat down with and really took some time to contemplate how I was going to approach and write it’s review. This was my starting point and because of Rebecca and The Tales of the Captain Duke I have learned and developed more skills, so it was an honour when I opened Of Tempests and Teacups and saw a snippet of my initial review of Diem’s work. I was thrilled, overwhelmed and excited to see a small piece of my writing in a book and it gave me a picture of what the future of my blog could entail. So thank you Rebecca for giving me that experience!

Tales of the Captain Duke was a great read. Although it was short Diem managed to portray many different levels of all the character’s involved in the story. She was able to deliver a story that kept you intrigued and invested in the plot and the characters. She created a world that revolved around the inner workings of the relationships and the political climate that was the driving force for Captain Duke to turn to piracy. We got to glimpse inside the beginnings of Clara’s adventures and be apart of the origin of her self discovery.

Of Tempests and Teacups was a bit slower than the other titles in the series, but there was no lack of story. Clara is the acting captain while Captain Duke is missing. Her plan of small crews collecting samples for quality control, under the guise of the Imperials is ingenious and successful, but she is having trouble locating the Captain Duke.

There is quite a bit of development with the mechanical ingenuity in this book and how they could be applied to daily living, but there is also those who wish to use it for harm. I enjoyed this aspect of the book especially in our current global political climate. There is a lot of contrast between morals and beliefs in this installment, which has not been as dominate throughout the series. We see more discussion revolve around this concept and how certain character’s dialogue dictate their beliefs.

Clara has grown so much throughout each book and she must now take all she has learned and face her fears at home. She must face returning home since her father passed, her betrothed, Corring, her feelings for Captain Duke and the unknown of her future.

One specific character I was happy to see take a role in the forefront was Cat. She is becoming a young woman and one that has experienced much for a young age. She is one of the key character’s to finding the Captain Duke and relies on her own knowledge and resources. I don’t think Diem is finished with Cat and we may be seeing her in future installments of Diem’s work.

The story has a happy ending. I’m not quite sure I like how the story ended for Captain Duke, but he was able to accomplish is initial goal and settle down once it was complete. rdiemClara is only just starting her journey and I genuinely am interested to see if Diem will write a Tales of Quartermaster Clara (title under construction). But Diem has definitely set herself up to create a world through many of the character’s she developed. Trick, Nessa, Cat and Mouse, Archie and Marie Buchanan could all potentially have a series. I really do hope this is the direction that Diem hopes to take her debut series because her talents and skills as a writer could only grow and increase in impact, that there is room for her to take the series and characters to a new level. Again I cannot wait to see what Rebecca plans for the future and will be waiting with anticipation for whatever new adventure she is going to take us on!

Visit Rebecca Diem’s website!!

Click here to purchase Of Tempest and Teacups

Leave a comment